top of page

A New Day

I'm still trying to figure out this Wix site. I posted a lot of photos into a gallery yesterday and some of them seem to have disappeared. If you'd like to see photos related to my books and family, go to my author FB page at https://www.facebook.com/MyPoeticGarden/?ref=aymt_homepage_panel.

I woke up unbearably early in the morning, but I was unable to go to sleep, so what did I do? I wrote. I began a children's story based on a story my mother told me about her own life. We'll see if this pans out. I still want to prep my book, Poetry from the Schoolyard, for Createspace, so I can turn it into a paperback on demand book. This will take some time as I review the requirements for doing so.

Today, we hope to go visit my son and his girlfriend in Richmond. That's probably why I can't sleep. I get so excited! No problem. I'll just sleep in the car. I'll be that one you see from a passing car - the one with her head falling forward and then jerking back again. We usually just go and spend lunch with them and then come back home. Tomorrow is MLK holiday, so I'll have plenty of time to do some writing then.

Whoever thought I'd be on this road - writing and self-publishing? My problem is learning how to self-promote. I imagine I haven't yet gotten the word out to all of those who would benefit from my book, Poetry on the Loss of a Mother. I am proud that it will appear in the newsletter for the National Association for Poetry Therapy, though. I hope they'll buy it and use it to help others who are similarly grieving.

Well, I can't think of anything else to say today, except for - Have a great day! Follow your creative leanings, folks!

The photo above is part of the memorial of my mom that I created on my piano top. Mom died December 23, 2014. I'll post other photos from various angles on other occasions. Mom loved anything Betty Boop (since Mom's name was Bettye). She loved flamingos, too. You'll see there's a little sign there. It reads, "Don't worry. Be happy." Mom's friend Pearl Duncan used to sing that to me whenever I got down. I miss her, too.

bottom of page