top of page

Back to School

I have only two more weeks before I return to substitute teaching elementary school. Over the summer, I've worked on writing picture books for kids and submitting them to publishers. I would love to publish one (or several) and get to read them to the kids with whom I work. I've met some very nice fellow-authors on KidLit411 on Facebook. There's even another branch of that group for swapping manuscripts to critique. Also, I belong to 10 Minute Novelists on Facebook. That's the adult version of KidLit411. It offers the idea that you can write a book if you set aside only 10 minutes a day to write. Right now, I'm working on writing my life story - growing up with abuse (from my dad), getting help for it and my journey, and how abuse still affects me today to a certain degree.

I applied (and got) a part-time tutoring job during the summer, but I gave it up before i started after deciding I'm already busy enough. I don't want to burn myself out by trying to do too much at once.

Last night, I dreamt I was trying to keep kindergarten kids under control during a field trip, so my mind is already taking me to subbing a few weeks before it starts up again!

We had a nice visit with my husband's mother in Michigan, although we had to visit her in a rehab center. Thankfully, she is now out of the center and doing pretty well.

It's been a very relaxing summer overall. I've learned some things, and I've enjoyed writing in my free time. I hope you've had a nice summer, also.

If you haven't (and you'd like to), check out my book of poems about grief and losing my mom (Poetry on the Loss of a Mother) on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Smashwords. You can find it in ebook or paperback. My poetry books for children are Poems from the Schoolyard (avail. in ebook and paperback) and A Child's Poetry Companion: Poems from the Countryside (available only as an ebook right now). I have other poems available in My Poetry Bouquet (also available as an ebook or paperback). It's on a variety of topics - nature, seasons, anxiety, teaching, etc.

Come visit me over at my author Facebook page listed above, too.

Have a great day!

bottom of page